Belgium: Hooverphonic Band Have a Line-Up Change Before Eurovision 2021

The Hooverphonic band were the first artists that were confirmed for Eurovision 2020.
They should have represented Belgium.

The band should have performed “Release Me“:

Following the cancellation of Eurovision 2020, the Flemish broadcaster chose internally the band to represent the country at Eurovision 2021

The band members were: Alex Callier, Raymond Geerts, Luka Cruysberghs, where Luka is the lead singer.

However, things may have been changed and a big drama is about to come!
According to the following Instagram post on the band’a page, it seems that the lead singer of the band is no more Luka.

View this post on Instagram

Exciting news!

A post shared by Hooverphonic (@hooverphonicoff) on

The new leading vocal of the band belong to Geike Arnaert who has been already the lead singer of the band in 1997-2008. The singer is well known as the lead vocalist of the band in their most successful years.

Geike Arnaert: het comebackinterview | Humo

Actually, she was the singer behind the masterpiece “Mad About You

The change in the band line-up will affect also the band’s song and style towards the Belgian entryfor Eurovision 2021.

Along the years, the band have been though line-up changes, where the lead singer has been changed 6 times: Esther Lybeert, Liesje Sadonius, Kyoko Baertsoen, Geike Arnaert , Noémie Wolfs and Luka Cruysberghs.

Stay tuned for all the news about Eurovision 2021. You can find all the relevant information at out Eurovision 2021 homepage:

Preview(opens in a new tab)

Follow Escbeat on Facebook , TwitterInstagramSpotifyYoutube, & AppleMusic to enjoy all the latest tunes from our ESC artists

Doron Lahav is 28 years old guy who lives in Israel. Doron watches Eurovision Song Contest since early 2000s. Doron works as a Data Scientist and also shows interest in singing and writing.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: