Get A First Look On Moldova’s 36 Hopefuls For Rotterdam

The Moldovian broadcaster TRM has finally revealed its plans for Eurovision 2020, or at least some of them.

TRM has officially revealed that 36 songs (from 35 artists) have received an invitation for the audition round. the auditions will probably take place in the first week of February 2020 on TRM Studios in Chișinău. it is yet early to know whether the auditions will use as a pre-round for a national selection with the public’s vote the same as last year “O melodi pentru Europa” or that Moldova’s entry will be selected behind closed doors by a jury only. more information regarding the  2020 selection mechanism will be announced soon.

What we do know is that among the artists confirmed for the auditions, there are some familiar names for the Eurovision fans.

Pasha Parfeni already represented Moldova back in 2012 and finished as close as possible to the final’s top10 with “Lăutar” (11th place).

Natalia Gordienko represented Moldova in 2016 together with Arsenium. their song “Loca” finished 20th scoring 22 points in total. Natalia’s entry for 2020 will be called “Prison” in 2020

Maxim Zavidia won the televotes in 2019 and almost sent to Tel-Aviv as he finished second. this time he’s coming back again to sing “Take Control”, a song he composed together with Alexey Streltsov to Nikos Sofis Lyrics.

Nikos Sofis himself is not foreign to the Moldovian selection. Sofis stood behind one of Moldova’s biggest miss to date Vera Țurcanu with “Black Heart” in 2018 (2nd place) and, “Cold” in 2019 (3rd place).

This year, Sofis won’t stand behind one artist only, but two! his second entry batteling to represent Moldova in Rotterdam is Catarina Sandu‘s “Die For You”. for this project, Nikos teamed up with Jennifer Aalto Kallunki and, Greek-Swedish composer Dimitris Stassos (known for composing Soraya “La Noche Es Para Mí (Spain 2009) and, Eleftheria Eleftheriou “Aphrodisiac” for Greece in 2012).

Catarina also has a previous Eurovision experience as she was one of the brides backing vocalists for sunstroke project in 2017, ranked the highest ever for Moldova in the contest (3rd place).  “Die For You” already became one of the favs to win on the fans’ social media groups and hit 3K views in 12 hours from the release.

O melodi pentru Europa 2019 third-place winner Diana Brescan will try to make it this time with “Let’s go together”.

Rock band Che-MD also remembered from their performance in 2019 will join vocalist Irina Revenco and return this year for another round to sing “Adio”

Lavinia Rusu who Participated in 2018 with the song “Altundeva” will return to sing “Touch”.

Liusia Znamensky will try to beat her 2018 “Don’t Deceive My Heart” 11th place with her 2020 entry called “Love No More”

Viorela Moraru first debut “O melodi pentru Europa” in 2018 with the song “The gates of love” came 13th in the final.  her entry for 2020 called “Remedy” and is already available to listen

Sasha Letty was a part of the Glam Girls group who finished 13th in the Moldovian national  2015  with the song “Magic”

This will be the 4th time that Tudor Bumbac attempts the national final in Moldova. his previous entries were: “Trandafirii Albi” in 2015, Într-o zi de iarnă” in 2017 and,  “Numai pentru Tine” in 2018

And how can we not mention the controversial school teacher and singer-songwriter Sasha Bognibov that didn’t qualify for the live show from the auditions round of 2019. this time Sasha will sing “Big Brother”.

Below you can see the full list of all 36 songs (and 35 artists) and listen to the songs already been out on the pre-selection #Playlist page:


  • Alexandru Cibotaru – Cine Te-A Făcut Să Plângi
  • Angel Kiss – My Own Queen
  • Angel Kiss – You Are My Dance
  • Carolina Racoviță – Dancing In The Sunrise
  • Catarina Sandu – Die For You
  • Che-MD feat Irina Revenco – Adio
  • Danny Cruise – My Love
  • Diana Brescan – Let’s Go Together
  • Diana Rotaru – Dale Dale
  • Diana Popa – Believe Me
  • Dima Jelezoglo – Do It Slow
  • Georgeta Burlacu – Răspunde
  • Irina Kit – Chain Rection
  • Julia Ilienko ft. Mishel Dar – Tears
  • Katerina S – We Are Done
  • LANJERON – Hi Five
  • Lave – Wildfire
  • Lavinia Rusu – Touch
  • Liusia Znamensky – Love No More
  • Live Beat – Love Me Now
  • Maria Ciolac – Our Home
  • Maxim Zavidia – Take Control
  • Midone Denis – Like A Champion
  • Natalia Gordienko – Prison
  • Nicolae Untilă – Call Me Please
  • Olea Roșu – Alive
  • Pasha Parfeni – My Wine
  • Petronela Donciu & Portărescu Andreea – We Will Be Legend
  • Ray Bark – I’m Shy
  • Sasha Bognibov – Big brother
  • Sasha Letty – Summer Of Love
  • Tudor Bumbac – Te-Am Văzut în Vis Pe Tine
  • Valentin Uzun & Irina Kovalsky – Moldovița
  • Valeria Pașa – It’s Time
  • Viorela Moraru – Remedy
  • Vovian – 10 Minuni în Moldova

Listen to all the Moldovian songs here and don’t forget to follow ESCBEAT on the streaming services

Image result for spotify apple music youtube




Eurovision 2020 Playlist Applemusic spotify youtube

Follow ESCBEAT on Facebook , TwitterInstagramSpotify AppleMusic  to enjoy all the latest tunes from our ESC artists

I've started to follow Eurovision back in 1987 while I was only 4 years old. Ever since that night, Eurovision became my biggest passion. I created ESCBEAT to make sure that Eurovision music will stay forever and built the biggest Eurovision archive exist on streaming platforms

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: