Eurovision 2022 Semi-Final Allocation Draw

In a live event from the host city Turin, the semi-final allocation draw was broadcast and became known to the public.

The ceremony has symbolic meaning as well, it will indicates the kickoff of Turin as the next host-city. The ceremony will follow the tradition that has started in 2007 – Each new host city (this time Turin) will add a unique ley or symbol to the set of keys.

Here is the key that was added to the set of keys, featuring the Major of Rotterdam city and the major of Turin city:

Carolina di Domenico and Mario Acampa hosted the event

41 countries will take part at Eurovision 2022 in Italy. 5 of them are automatic qualifiers – The big 5 (Italy, France, Spain, Germany and the UK).

other 36 countries will have to go through the semi-finals in order to guarantee their places in the grand-final.
These 36 countries were assigned to 6 different pots, based on their voting pattern in the recent 15 years. In other words, if 2 countries tend to vote for each other (based on music taste, geographical or characteristics), then it will likely to have them in the same pot. This strategy was meant to reduce bloc voting (as usually we had in Eurovision 2004 – 2007).

This year, we have 6 pots, each one of them include 6 countries as follows:

How does the process work?

Each pot includes 6 countries. 3 of them will be allocated to semi final 1 and the 3 remaining countries will be allocated to semi-final 2.
This makes each semi-final to include 18 counties (6 pots X 3 countries from each pot).
In addition, each country (in the semi-finals) will get an allocation for the first half (songs number 1-9) or the second half (songs number 10-18) of the semi-final which she will participate in.

Nevertheless, the Big 5 countries (Italy, France, Spain, Germany and the UK), will get a semi-final that they should broadcast and vote in.

Semi – Final 1 (Tuesday, 10th of May 2022)

First Half of The Show (SONGS 1-9)

  • Albania
  • Latvia
  • Switzerland
  • Slovenia
  • Bulgaria
  • Moldova
  • Ukraine
  • Lithuania
  • The Netherlands

Second Half of The Show (SONGS 10-18)

  • Norway
  • Russia
  • Portugal
  • Denmark
  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Croatia
  • Iceland
  • Greece

Semi – Final 2 (Thursday, 12th of May 2022)

First Half of The Show (SONGS 1-9)

  • Australia
  • Georgia
  • Cyprus
  • Serbia
  • Finland
  • Azerbaijan
  • San Marino
  • Israel
  • Malta

Second Half of The Show (SONGS 10-18)

  • Montenegro
  • Romania
  • Czech Republic
  • Poland
  • Belgium
  • North Macedonia
  • Sweden
  • Estonia
  • Ireland

Big 5

Semi-Final 1 (Voting and Broadcasting)

  • France
  • Italy

Semi-Final 2 (Voting and Broadcasting)

  • United Kingdom
  • Spain
  • Germany

Additional Remarks

Some of the “Power Couple” countries were allocated into 2 different semi-finals, so they won’t be able to vote for each other in the semi-finals:

Greece – Cyprus,
Moldova – Romania
North Macedonia – Albania
Norway – Sweden
and more

While some “Power Couple” countries were allocated into the same semi-final:

Lithuania – Latvia
Iceland – Denmark
Serbia – Montenegro
and more

Power Couple” countries are pairs of countries that tend to give each other 8-12 points for example,

On the other hand, some of the pairs of countries that don’t tend to vote for each other were also allocated in different semi-finals. For example: Serbia- Albania, Armenia- Azerbaijan and more.


You can watch the ceremony here:

You’re welcome to read all about Eurovision 2022 on our homepage

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Eurovision-2022-Homepage.jpg

Doron Lahav is 30-year-old, who lives in Israel. Doron has been watching the Eurovision Song Contest since early 2000s. Doron works as a Data Scientist and shows interest in singing and writing.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: