Malta: The Busker Won “MESC 2023”

With 40 songs begin the road to Eurovision 2023, it is now the moment of truth for Malta to select one winner.

Hosted the show were two former Eurovision acts that represented the country in the past: Glen Vella (2011) and Amber. Both granted the honor of taking the stage to each of the 16 finalists in the following running order:

  1. Nathan – Creeping Walls
  2. Chris Grech – Indescribable
  3. Maxine Pace – Alone
  4. Fabizio Faniello – Try To Be Better
  5. Geo DeBono – The Mirror
  6. Brooke – Checkmate
  7. Ian – On My Own
  8. Eliana Gomez Blanco – Guess what
  9. The Busker – Dance (Our Own Party)
  10. Giada – I depend on You
  11. Matt Blxck – UP.
  12. Cheryl Balzan – La La Land
  13. Christian Arding – Eku Ċar
  14. Ryan Hili – In the Silence
  15. Dan – It’ll Be Ok
  16. Stefan – Heartbreaker

Live Performances (YouTube)


The results were based on a 50/50 combination of the jury panel and the public televoting.

The jury voted, giving first place to Matt Blxck:

Adding up: the public vote who have granted first place to The Busker:

The Busker won “MESC 2023” with the song “Dance Our Own Party“:

Malta was allocated to perform in the first half of semi-final 1 at Eurovision 2023

Last year in Turin, the Maltese flag was raised by Emma Muscat.
Her performance of “I Am What I Am” collected 47 points and ranked 16 in semi-final 2.

Don’t forget to visit our full guide to Eurovision 2023: Eurovision 2023 homepage

Doron Lahav is 30-year-old, who lives in Israel. Doron has been watching the Eurovision Song Contest since early 2000s. Doron works as a Data Scientist and shows interest in singing and writing.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: