Monaco is Permitted to Compete in Eurovision 2024

On the 1st of September 2023, Monaco launched its new national broadcaster –TVMONACO.
TVMONCAO is part of the Monaco Media Diffusion corporate, which is an official EBU member.
Monaco Media Diffusion was formed in 1994 and represents the principality of Monaco

Previously, TMC has been the general national broadcaster of Monaco.
Recently, TMC was merges into the French Television TF1, and therefore isn’t an EBU member anymore.

To make Monaco’s Eurovision 2024 participation happen, the national broadcaster has to apply and submit an official request to the EBU.
The deadline for confirming participating in the 15th of September 2023.
However, broadcasters are allowed to withdraw their participation without any penalty by the 11th of October 2023.
The EBU usually release the list of participating countries towards the end of October.

Monaco In Eurovision

Monaco participated in the contest 24 times, between the years 1959 and 1979 and between 2004 and 2006.
For the last 3 participations, TMC wasn’t in charge of the participation, but the principality itself.
Ever since the semi-finals were launched, Monaco has never qualified for the final.

The country’s best results was in 1971. Back then, Séverine represented the country with the song “Un banc, un arbre, une rue” and won the competition.

Monaco‘s recent participation was in 2006, Séverine Ferrer represented the country with the song “La Coco-dance”, and failed to qualify for the final:

It won’t be the first time that Monaco participation is brought to the table.
In 2009, the EBU took active part to make the country returning to the contest, however this attempt was failed.
In 2022, the national broadcaster stated that they will keep part of their budget for Eurovision participation.

Would you like to see Monaco at Eurovision 2024?
Eurovision 2024 will be held in Malmö, Sweden.
The semi-final will be held on the 7th and 9th of May 2024, and the grand final will be held on the 11h of May 2024

So far, the following countries have confirmed participation in Eurovision 2024: Sweden, Norway, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Israel, Moldova, Estonia, Austria, Cyprus, Denmark, Spain, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, MaltaSerbiaSwitzerland, the UK, AzerbaijanLithuaniaUkrainePortugal, San Marino, Belgium, and Albania.

Doron Lahav is 30-year-old, who lives in Israel. Doron has been watching the Eurovision Song Contest since early 2000s. Doron works as a Data Scientist and shows interest in singing and writing.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: