Ireland: More Than 360 Songs Were Submitted For Eurovision 2024

Ireland has opened the submission window for Eurovision 2024 on the 15th of June 2023.
The initial deadline was the 29th of September, but later on was postponed to the 20th of October.

A few days after the close of the submission window, we get the information about the local demand this year.

While listening to the Irish Eirevision Podcast, further details revealed:

Michael Kealy, the Head of the Irish Delegation For Eurovision, gave an interview in the recent episode of the podcast.
More than 360 songs were submitted during the 4 months submission period.
The method of narrowing down the list of submissions has changed compared to the previous years.

 RTÉ will probably shortlist 6 acts to participate in the national final: 2 acts will be chosen by RTÉ  representatives, while additional 4 songs will be chosen by a panel of 40 people (including Eurovision fans and music experts). The panel of just will rank a reduce list of songs, where each member will be request to give a sorted list of 10 songs. The combined top 4 (based on the jury vote) will complete the list of 6 songs.

The exact format of the Irish selection for Eurovision 2024 hasn’t been finalized yet, but it is most likely to follow the format of the 2 last years (with some possible changes).
In 2022 and 2023, RTÉ organized a national selection “Irish Eurosong“, as part of the “Late Late Night”. 6 artists took part in each edition, with the results being determined by a public vote and an expert jury.

Wild Youth represented Ireland at Eurovision 2023 with the song “We Are One“.
They ended up in 12th place in semi-final 1, and therefore didn’t qualify for the final:243 points

Who would you like to see representing Ireland at Eurovision 2024?
Eurovision 2024 will be held in Malmö, Sweden.
The semi-finals will be held on the 7th and 9th of May 2024, and the grand final will be held on the 11th of May 2024

So far, the list of countries that have confirmed participation in Eurovision 2024

  1. Sweden
  2. Norway
  3. Finland
  4. Israel
  5. Germany
  6. The Netherlands
  7. Luxembourg
  8. Moldova
  9. Estonia
  10. Austria
  11. Cyprus
  12. Denmark
  13. Spain
  14. France
  15. Ireland
  16. Iceland
  17. Italy
  18. Malta
  19. Serbia
  20. Switzerland
  21. The UK
  22. Azerbaijan
  23. Croatia
  24. Lithuania
  25. Ukraine
  26. Portugal
  27. Poland
  28. San Marino
  29. Belgium
  30. Latvia
  31. Greece
  32. Georgia
  33. Slovenia
  34. Albania
  35. Czechia
  36. North Macedonia – not official

Doron Lahav is 30-year-old, who lives in Israel. Doron has been watching the Eurovision Song Contest since early 2000s. Doron works as a Data Scientist and shows interest in singing and writing.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: