Azerbaijan: 6 Artists Advanced For Next Round of Eurovision 2024 Selection Process

Azerbaijani broadcaster ictimai TV continues the prepartions for Eurovision 2024.
A total of 214 songs were submitted to the selection process (88 of them were written by Azeris, while 126 are form foreign writers).

As a result, 15 artists have been invited to attend live auditions

Following the auditions, the jury panel shortlisted 6 acts to advance for the 3rd round of selection:

  1. Aisel (Eurovision 2018)
  2. Emy Lia (Emiliya Yaqubova) – The winner of “The Voice of Azerbaijan” season 1
  3. İlkin Dövlətov & Mila Miles & Etibar Əsədli
  4. Fahree
  5. Səbinə Quluzadə
  6. Qorqud

Aisel represented Azerbaijan at Eurovision 2018 with X My Heart“)

This means, the follwoing 9 acts won’t represent Azerbaijan at Eurovision 2024:

  1. Rilaya with the song Sympohny of Life
  2. Tofiq Hacıyev & Camal Qurbanov
  3. Mari
  4. Sabina Beyli
  5. Lexa
  6. Edgar Ravinov
  7. Əmrah Musayev
  8. Alesker
  9. Rahib Mirzəyev & Tofiq Yadigar

The jury panel included several past Eurovision participants: Eldar Gasimov and Nigar Jamal, who won Eurovision 2011, and Aysel Teymurzadə who was one half of the duo who represented Azerbaijan at Eurovision 2009

TurlTuranx represented Azerbaijan at Eurovision 2023 with “Tell Me More“.
They didn’t manage to qualify for the final:

Who would you like to see representing Azerbaijan at Eurovision 2024?
Eurovision 2024 will be held in Malmö, Sweden.
The semi-final will be held on the 7th and 9th of May 2024, and the grand final will be held on the 11h of May 2024

So far, the list of countries that have confirmed participation in Eurovision 2024

  1. Sweden
  2. Norway
  3. Finland
  4. Israel
  5. Germany
  6. The Netherlands
  7. Luxembourg
  8. Moldova
  9. Estonia
  10. Austria
  11. Cyprus
  12. Denmark
  13. Spain
  14. France
  15. Ireland
  16. Iceland
  17. Italy
  18. Malta
  19. Serbia
  20. Switzerland
  21. The UK
  22. Azerbaijan
  23. Croatia
  24. Lithuania
  25. Ukraine
  26. Portugal
  27. Poland
  28. San Marino
  29. Belgium
  30. Latvia
  31. Greece
  32. Georgia
  33. Slovenia
  34. Albania
  35. Czechia
  36. North Macedonia – not official

Doron Lahav is 30-year-old, who lives in Israel. Doron has been watching the Eurovision Song Contest since early 2000s. Doron works as a Data Scientist and shows interest in singing and writing.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.