Eurovision 2022: Pots For Semi-Final Allocation Draw Unveiled

The EBU has just revealed the 6 pots that will decompose the semi-finals allocation draw.
The event will be held in Turin on Tuesday the 25th of January 2022.
The ceremony has symbolic meaning as well, it will indicates the kickoff of Turin as the next host-city. The ceremony will follow the tradition that has started in 2007 – Each new host city (this time Turin) will add a unique ley or symbol to the set of keys.

41 countries will take part at Eurovision 2022 in Italy. 5 of them are automatic qualifiers – The big 5 (Italy, France, Spain, Germany and the UK).

other 36 countries will have to go through the semi-finals in order to guarantee their places in the grand-final.
These 36 countries were assigned to 6 different pots, based on their voting pattern in the recent years. In other words, if 2 countries tend to vote for each other (based on music taste, geographical or characteristics), then it will likely to have them in the same pot. This strategy was meant to reduce bloc voting (as usually we had in Eurovision 2004 – 2007).

This year, we have 6 pots, each one of them include 6 countries as follows:

Pot 1Ex-Yugoslavian countries

  • Albania
  • Croatia
  • Montenegro
  • North Macedonia
  • Serbia
  • Slovenia

Pot 2Nordic / Scandinavian countries and Australia

  • Denmark
  • Australia
  • Finland
  • Iceland
  • Norway
  • Sweden

Pot 3 Ex-Soviet Union Countries and Israel

  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Georgia
  • Israel
  • Russia
  • Ukraine

Pot 4 Balkan countries, South Europe and “Latin” countries

  • Cyprus
  • Greece
  • Malta
  • Bulgaria
  • Portugal
  • San Marino

Pot 5Eastern Europe and Baltic countries

  • Estonia
  • Lithuania
  • Latvia
  • Moldova
  • Poland
  • Romania

Pot 6 Central Europe

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Switzerland
  • Czech Republic
  • Ireland
  • Netherlands

How will the process work?

Each pot includes 6 countries. 3 of them will be allocated to semi final 1 and the 3 remaining countries will be allocated to semi-final 2.
This makes each semi-final to include 18 counties (6 pots X 3 countries from each pot).
In addition, each country (in the semi-finals) will get an allocation for the first half (songs number 1-9) or the second half (songs number 10-18) of the semi-final which she will participate in.

Nevertheless, the Big 5 countries (Italy, France, Spain, Germany and the UK), will get a semi-final that they should broadcast and vote in.

The ceremony will be broadcast live from Palazzo Madama e Casaforte degli Acaja, Turin

The live streaming will be available on the official YouTube channel of Eurovision Song Contest.

The TV presenters Carolina di Domenico and Gabriele Corsi will host the ceremony.

The ceremony will be held with the attendance of  Mayor of Rotterdam Ahmed Aboutaleb and the Mayor of Turin Stefano Lo Russo.

You’re welcome to read all about Eurovision 2022 on our homepage

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Eurovision-2022-Homepage.jpg

Doron Lahav is 30-year-old, who lives in Israel. Doron has been watching the Eurovision Song Contest since early 2000s. Doron works as a Data Scientist and shows interest in singing and writing.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.