EBU Released The Rules of Eurovision 2024

The EBU has released the official rules of the Eurovision 2024.
In this document, the EBU related to the technical details, the format of the shows, etc.
The majority of the rules remained the same.
We will focus on the most important ones:

  1. Up to 44 countries will be allowed to participate in Eurovision 2024
  2. The semi-final results will be determined by a 100% public vote. This means the national jury won’t vote in the semi-finals.
  3. Votes from “The Rest of The World” (as part of the public vote) will be allowed this year, as well. Public votes from non-participating countries will be aggregated and considered as an additional country.
  4. The results of the grand final will be determined by a combination of national jury and public votes. The exact proportion between the 2 components will be determined at a later date by the Eurovision Reference Group.Therefore, it is possible that the jury vote will have a lower weight on the final results
  5. It seems that the use of auto-tune won’t be allowed at the moment
  6. The semi-final results will be announced in random order by the hosts. The exact scores will be revealed after the final.
  7. In the grand final, national spokespersons will announce the national jury votes. Public votes will be aggregated and announced by Eurovision hosts.
  8. The “EBU Values” are: Universality, Independence, Excellence, Diversity, Accountability and Innovation.
  9. ESC Values” include: Universality, diversity, equality, inclusivity and a proud tradition of celebrating diversity through music

Eurovision 2024 will be held in Malmö, Sweden.
The semi-finals will be held on the 7th and 9th of May 2024, and the grand final will be held on the 11h of May 2024

So far, the list of countries that have confirmed participation in Eurovision 2024

  1. Sweden
  2. Norway
  3. Finland
  4. Israel
  5. Germany
  6. The Netherlands
  7. Luxembourg
  8. Moldova
  9. Estonia
  10. Austria
  11. Cyprus
  12. Denmark
  13. Spain
  14. France
  15. Ireland
  16. Iceland
  17. Italy
  18. Malta
  19. Serbia
  20. Switzerland
  21. The UK
  22. Azerbaijan
  23. Croatia
  24. Lithuania
  25. Ukraine
  26. Portugal
  27. Poland
  28. San Marino
  29. Belgium
  30. Latvia
  31. Greece
  32. Georgia
  33. Slovenia
  34. Albania
  35. Czechia
  36. North Macedonia – not official

Doron Lahav is 30-year-old, who lives in Israel. Doron has been watching the Eurovision Song Contest since early 2000s. Doron works as a Data Scientist and shows interest in singing and writing.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: